Wealth File #17: Rich people constantly learn and grow. Poor people think they already know.

I have quite enjoyed the journey of my recent few months. I’ve been through numerous ups and downs and have learned a TON about myself, including what’s important to me and which values resonate with me the most. One thing that my parents have always stressed and that my mentors have constantly encouraged is being resourceful and a lifelong learner. Finishing up my engineering classes, it hit me that I knew very little about money- well at least not enough to get me going successfully. Thus, I’ve taken a very serious interest in educating myself financially. I think folks my age would be flabbergasted at how much we don’t know about the world. But now is the time to change our financial trajectory in life.

My recent endeavors as a financial planner and the books that I feed my mind, such as Secrets of the Millionaire MindThink and Grow Rich, and Investing 101, have completely changed my perception of money. Money buys opportunities and simply gives us more ability to do the things we want. I’m now excited about my financial future and the future of my peers and associates who choose to be sponges. My plan is to have a million by 30 and some other goals appear elsewhere on my blog. Let’s make it happen. There’s plenty of room at the top.

And don’t think I’ve forgotten: “And again I say unto you, It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.” (Matthew 19:24)

But this passage resonates with me even stronger:

13 “Therefore stay alert, because you do not know the day or the hour. 14 For it is like a man going on a journey, who summoned his slaves and entrusted his property to them. 15 To one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one, each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. 16 The one who had received five talents went off right away and put his money to work and gained five more. 17 In the same way, the one who had two gained two more. 18 But the one who had received one talent went out and dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money in it. 19 After a long time, the master of those slaves came and settled his accounts with them. 20 The one who had received the five talents came and brought five more, saying, ‘Sir, you entrusted me with five talents. See, I have gained five more.’ 21 His master answered, ‘Well done, good and faithful slave! You have been faithful in a few things. I will put you in charge of many things. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 22 The one with the two talents also came and said, ‘Sir, you entrusted two talents to me. See, I have gained two more.’ 23 His master answered, ‘Well done, good and faithful slave! You have been faithful with a few things. I will put you in charge of many things. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 24 Then the one who had received the one talent came and said, ‘Sir, I knew that you were a hard man, harvesting where you did not sow, and gathering where you did not scatter seed, 25 so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. See, you have what is yours.’ 26 But his master answered, ‘Evil and lazy slave! So you knew that I harvest where I didn’t sow and gather where I didn’t scatter? 27 Then you should have deposited my money with the bankers, and on my return I would have received my money back with interest! 28 Therefore take the talent from him and give it to the one who has ten. 29 For the one who has will be given more, and he will have more than enough. But the one who does not have, even what he has will be taken from him. 30 And throw that worthless slave into the outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth’” (Matthew 25:13-30). 

Who am I to waste my talent? And who are you to do the same? We have work to do and that work requires resources.

“Those who don’t are no better than those who can’t.”

About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Building the Community, Lifelong Learner, Millionaire Mindset. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

