My Soul was Nourished at “Art of Republic”!

I had a truly remarkable experience last night at the Girl and Guy Republic Salon enjoying the creativity, passion, and talent of artists in the Columbus community! It was exactly what I needed and I thank God for the series of events recently that allowed me to get there! I thought to myself “I wish my friends were here”, but I realized that sometimes we have to get out of our comfort zones and just allow ourselves to experience God’s blessings. I met wonderful people and was thoroughly amazed by the gifted vocalists, spoken word artists, musicians, artist, and community professionals.

1453313_10200964995079531_1491990829_n

I had the opportunity to host the event for the first time and that was a great experience as well! I’m definitely inspired to stay in touch with my creative energy and we’ll see where it goes! I caught myself wanting to sing, perform poetry, and break out my saxophone. Also, I HAD to take photos and will be able to share those soon. Mr. Wali “MNriceGuy” Chowder just destroyed the microphone with his spoken word about the calamity of gun violence in Columbus by sharing the “views” of the bullets that pierce holes in the fabric of the community. Mr. Sheldon Whiteside serenaded the crowd with his vocals and really evoked the spirit and warmth of the people.

DSC_0305

The “irony” of last night was just amazing! I randomly met a fraternity brother of mine a few months ago at a cookout and we immediately recognized the hunger for success and caliber that we each conveyed. We soon thereafter re-connected to discuss our current endeavors and philosophies on life. I truly appreciate him as he was more than willing to support my G’Natural Herbal Products business by introducing me to the owner of the salon and the rest was history. Her salon has such a positive and powerful aura to it that I was just overwhelmed with the comfort of home. I knew that I had to be involved and God just told me to stay in touch and follow up.

DSC_0240

One of the young artist, Ms. Natalie Orr,  has been painting for 6 months and is producing AMAZING works of art and I can’t wait to purchase one.  We also might be working together soon in some capacity!

DSC_0274

The kicker for me for the evening was that the featured artist of the evening is an initiate of the city-wide chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc, Pi Gamma Chapter! She did an amazing job and is definitely going to be HUGE. I definitely had to get a copy of her ablum!

We immediately bonded as she had seen me briefly “strolling”. She was like “Are you Greek? I saw you do a move while you were dancing!” I revealed that I was a initiate of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc, Kappa Chapter. “Oh, what’s up bruh?” I was SHOCKED and pleased. I love being Greek, and folks who write-off the Greek experience are doing themselves a HUGE disservice. “If you knew what I knew, you would do what I do.” 06!

DSC_0386

I cherish any opportunity to uplift my community in any way possible because WE NEED IT! We need warriors for change and we need leaders to cultivate the power and positive energy that our community possesses. I’m so glad that a friend of mine, Chineze,  and her brother were able to bless the audience with 2 wonderful pieces of music using her cello and his viola. They did a wonderful job and got the night started off right! I love networking but more so, I love using my resources and blessings to bless others! I look forward to engaging other artists and talented individuals in my circle.

DSC_0219

I find myself constantly taking time to reflect on my life and last night presented an interesting situation considering everyone else and their mother in Ohio was captivated by the Michigan State- Ohio State game- which OSU ended up losing. I invited several of my friends, but none of them were able to attend. I also invited several friends who were “busy studying for finals.” I look forward to instilling students with my newly found “Eternal Perspective” which forces us to put things in the perspective of how we will spend eternity. When you look at life like that, some things just don’t matter as much as relationships and opportunities to enjoy God’s blessings. At the end of the evening, I realized that I had made the right decision. I can’t wait until the next event in the series!

DSC_0308

I have to give HUGE PROPS to Mrs. Rhonda Fisher who orchestrated the whole evening! We talked about how she was nervous about the first event but I’m confident that EVERY single person in attendance was satisfied and I wish more people could have witnessed the beginning of this giant. She, like many of her friends and associates, is beautiful in and out and I look forward to connecting with them and thereafter connecting them and other young ambitious ladies who hope to make an impact on the world.

DSC_0276

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step and the fastest way to the top of the mountain is to make sure that each step we take is in the right direction!”

 

About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
Image | This entry was posted in Building the Community, Iron Sharpens Iron, Lifelong Learner, Millionaire Mindset. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

