“The Traveler’s Gift” by Andy Andrews (Part 1)

Each week, my Vice President lets me borrow a book and I might get the chance to share my experience and reflections with my colleagues during our Monday Night training. This week I’m reading “The Traveler’s Gift” by Andy Andrews. I’m not exactly sure what it’s about, but I think it involves teaching people how to make key life decisions.

And even if you are dreaming, that’s not a problem. For centuries, dreams have been used to communicate instruction and direction to people of purpose- great men and women. God used dreams to prepare Joseph for his future as a leader of nations. He gave battle plans to Gideon in a dream. Joan of Arc, Jacob, George Washington, Marie Curie, and the apostle Paul were all guided by their dreams.” p. 22

The ultimate outcome of anyone’s life is a matter of personal choice. p. 25

Your future is what you decide it will be. p. 26

David, we are all in situations of our own choosing. Our thinking creates a pathway to success or failure. By disclaiming responsibility for our present, we crush the prospect of an incredible future that might have been ours. p. 26

I am saying that outside influences are not responsible for where you are mentally, physically, spiritually, emotionally, or financially. You have chosen the pathway to your present destination. The responsibility for your situation is yours. p. 26

Until a person takes responsibility for where he is, there is no basis for moving on. The bad news is that the past was in your hands, but the good news is that the future, my friend, is also in your hands. p. 28

The First Decision for Success: The buck stops here.

  • I understand that the beginning of wisdom is to accept the responsibility for my own problems and that by accepting responsibility for my past, I free myself to move into a bigger, brighter future of my own choosing. p. 32
  • I am where I am today- mentally, physically, spiritually, emotionally, and financially- because of decisions I have made. p. 32
  • I will seek the association of those who are working and striving to bring about positive changes in the world. I will never seek comfort by associating with those who have decided to be comfortable. p. 33
  • In the future when I am tempted to ask the question “Why me?” I will immediately counter with the answer: “Why not me?” Challenges are gifts, opportunities to learn. p. 33
  • Adversity is preparation for greatness. p. 34

Jehovah moves mountains to create the opportunity of His choosing. It is up to you to be ready to move yourself. p. 42

Seek wisdom. Wisdom waits to be gathered. She cannot be bartered or sold. She is a gift for the diligent. And only the diligent will find her. The lazy man- the stupid man- never even looks. Though wisdom is available to many, she is found by few. Seek wisdom. Find her, and you will find success and contentment. p. 43

And at what age are we no longer affected by those around us? Eighteen? Twenty-one? Thirty? The answer, of course, is that we are always and forever influenced by those with whom we associate. If a man keeps company with those who curse and complain- he will soon find curses and complaints flowing like a river from his own mouth. If he spends his days with the lazy- those seeking handouts- he will soon find his finances in disarray. Many of our sorrows can be traced to relationships with the wrong people. p. 45

Anytime you tolerate mediocrity in your choice of companions, you become more comfortable with mediocrity in your own life. If a lazy man isn’t an irritation to you, it is a sign that you have accepted slothfulness as a way of life. p. 45

Only a fool refuses the counsel of wise men. p. 46

When a king begins to act like a king, it is not long before someone else is king! Serving is a way we can place value on one another. A wise man is a server. p. 47

It is never the duty of a leader to struggle for someone else; a leader must encourage others to struggle and assure them that the struggles are worthwhile. Do battle with the challenges of your present, and you will unlock the prizes of your future. p. 48

The Second Decision For Success: I will seek wisdom.

  • I will train my eyes and ears to read and listen to books and recordings that bring about positive changes in my personal relationships and a greater understanding of my fellowman. No long will I bombard my mind with materials that feed my doubts and fears. I will read and listen only to what increases my belief in myself and my future. I will seek wisdom. I will choose my friends with care. p. 49
  • If I associate with chickens, I will learn to scratch at the ground and squabble over crumbs. If I associate with eagles, I will learn to soar to great heights. I am an eagle. It is my destiny to fly. p. 49
  • The person who ignores wise counsel is like the blade of grass untouched by the rain- soon to wither and die. When I counsel with just myself, I can make decisions only according to what I already know. By counseling with a wise man. I add his knowledge and experience to my own and dramatically increase my success. p. 49
  • A wise man will cultivate a servant’s spirit, for that particular attribute attracts people like no other…Often, the person who develops a servant’s spirit becomes wealth beyond measure. Many times, a servant has the ear of the king, and a humble servant often becomes a king, for he is the popular choice of the people. He who serves the most grows the fastest. p. 50

Man! This book so far has just been awesome! Each of the pieces of advice packs a powerful punch that resonates with my deepest and strongest values. Fortunately, I have already begun to implement much of the wise counsel into my daily living, but I aspire to do even more! Books like these make me feel like I’m doing the right things with my life and I know that things will always work in my favor when I serve the kingdom.

About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

