“The Traveler’s Gift” by Andy Andrews (Part 2)

I love momentum. Reading makes me want to read more, especially when I’m reading a really fulfilling book. This happens to be one of them. I’m going to try to finish the book within 2 days!

I have deep within me the inability to do nothing. I may die today, but I will not die with a bullet in my back. I will not die in retreat. I am, at least, like the apostle Paul, who wrote, ‘This one thing I do…I press toward the mark.’ ” p. 63

‘We can’t retreat’, he said to himself. ‘We can’t stay here. When I am faced with the choice of doing nothing or doing something, I will always choose to act. I am a person of action.’ p. 67

The Third Decision for Success: I am a person of action.

  • I am a person of action. I am energetic. I move quickly. p. 69
  • Wealth and prosperity hide from the sluggard, but rich rewards come to the person who moves quickly. I am a person of action. I inspire others with my activity. I am a leader. p. 69
  • My activity will create a wave of success for the people who follow. My activity will be consistent. p. 69
  • It is true: an army of sheep led by a lion would defeat an army of lions led by a sheep! p. 69
  • A person who moves neither left nor right is destined for mediocrity. When faced with a decision, many people say they are waiting for God. But I understand, in most cases, God is waiting for me! He has given me a healthy mind to gather and sort information and the courage to come to a conclusion. p. 70
  • I do not fear failure, for in my life, failure is a myth. Failure exists only for the person who quits. I do not quit. p. 71

Do you know where you are is a question that affects me not in the least! Now, ‘Do you know where you are going?”- there is a question that I can answer! p. 78

Truth is truth. If a thousand people believe something foolish, it is still foolish! Truth is never dependent upon consensus of opinion. I have found that it is better to be alone and acting upon the truth in my heart than to follow a gaggle of silly geese doomed to mediocrity. p. 80

“My friend,” Columbus said with a smile, “if you worry about what other people think of you, then you will have more confidence in their opinion than you have in your own. Poor is the man whose future depends on the opinions and permission of others. Remember this, if you are afraid of criticism, you will die doing nothing!” p. 81

“Getting started, getting finished both ends of a journey require a demonstration of passion,” Columbus mused. David stared blankly at the great man. “Passion!” he said again a forceful whisper. “Passion is a product of the heart. Passion is what helps you when you have a great dream. Passion breeds conviction and turns mediocrity into excellence! Your passion will motivate others to join you in pursuit of your dream. With passion, you will overcome insurmountable obstacles. You will become unstoppable!” p. 81

Nothing great was ever accomplished by a realistic person! p. 85

Most people fail at whatever they attempt because of an undecided heart. Should I? Should I not? Go forward? Go back? Success requires the emotional balance of a committed heart. When confronted with a challenge, the committed heart will search for a solution. The undecided heart searches for an escape…A committed heart does not wait for conditions to be exactly right. Indecision limits the Almighty and His vision in you- proceed! To wait, to wonder, to doubt, to be indecisive is to disobey God. p. 86

The Fourth Decision for Success: I have a decided heart.

  • Criticism, condemnation, and complaint are creatures of the wind. They come and go on the wasted breath of lesser beings and have no power over me. The power to control direction belongs to me. Today I will exercise that power. My course has been charted. My destiny is assured. p. 88
  • I will awaken every morning with an excitement about the new day and its opportunity for growth and change. My thoughts and actions will work in a forward motion, never sliding into the dark forest of doubt or the muddy quicksand of self-pity. I will freely give my vision for the future to others, and as they see the belief in my eyes, they will follow me. p. 88
  • Yes, I have a dream. It is a great dream, and I will never apologize for it. Neither will I ever let it go, for if I did, my life would be finished. My hopes, my passions, my vision for the future are my very existence. A person without a dream never had a dream come true. p. 88
  • What I put off until tomorrow, I will put off until the next day as well. I do not procrastinate. All my problems become smaller when I confront them…I will not wait…I have a decided heart. p. 89

One ma choose to complain, and one may choose not to complain. I choose not to complain. p. 101

First we make choices. Then our choices make us. p. 101

My life- my personality, my habits, even my speech- is a combination of the books I choose to read, the people I choose to listen to, and the thoughts I choose to tolerate in my mind. p. 101

It’s not the color of the balloon that is important. It’s what’s inside that makes all the difference. p. 103

If, in fact, it is what’s inside us that makes all the difference, then the difference is made when we choose what goes inside. p. 103

Fear is a poor chisel with which to carve out tomorrow. p. 106

I do not deny the reality of our situation. I deny the finality of it. This, too, shall pass. p. 106

The Fifth Decision for Success:  Today I will choose to be happy.

  • Happiness is a choice. Happiness is the end result of certain thoughts and activities, which actually bring about a chemical reaction in my body. This reaction results in a euphoria that, while elusive to some, is totally under my control. p. 108
  • Laughter is an outward expression of enthusiasm, and I know that enthusiasm is the fuel that moves the world…The world belongs to the enthusiastic, for people will follow them anywhere! p. 109
  • Discouragement, despair, frustration, and fear will always wither when confronted by my smile. p. 109
  • Just as a fresh breeze cleans smoke from the air, so a grateful spirit removes the cloud of despair. It is impossible for the seeds of depression to take root in a thankful heart. p. 109

“Personal growth leads to power. There is a certain level of personal growth that will provide the skills necessary to feed and clothe one’s family. There is another level of personal growth that will furnish influence and wisdom in sufficient quantities to be perceived a leader.” Lincoln paused. He looked directly into the younger man’s eyes. “But to do great deeds, great power is essential. Do not run from power. Gather it as you would the finest fruit. Power in the hands of a good person is like a cool drink of water on a hot summer day. It refreshes everyone with whom it comes in contact. p. 121

But there are a few of us, David, who have latched on to this silly idea that we can change the world. We will develop the power to ignore what is popular and do what is right. One person can attain the power to lead hundreds of thousands of people to the promised land of their dreams. p. 121

As children, we were afraid of the dark. Now as adults, we are afraid of the light. We are afraid to step out. We are afraid to become more. But how can we lead others to a destination we have not reached? Keep searching, son. I am urging you to seek the light that to you seems so far in the distance. It will be worth the journey. You will become a lighthouse of personal growth and power, and by your example and leadership, you will prevent many a worthy man from crashing his life upon the rocks of mediocrity. p. 122

When you become a person whom others want to be around, you will have become a person of influence. p. 122

But you will never please everyone, nor should pleasing everyone be your goal. For example, to seek the approval of someone who is lazy or jealous is to cast your pearls before swine. You will find that God rarely uses a person whose main concern is what others are thinking. p. 123

“So your question was ‘Do I believe that God is on our side?’ To be quite honest, I haven’t given that question very much attention. I am much more concerned with whether we are on God’s side.” p. 128

If you are determined to win, you will have to surround yourself with winners. p. 130

The secret of forgiveness…It is a secret that is hidden in plain sight. It costs nothing and is worth millions. It is available to everyone and used by few. If you harness the power of forgiveness, you will be revered, sought after, and wealthy. And not coincidentally, you will also be forgiven by others! p. 131

The unmistakable truth about forgiveness is that it is not a reward that must be earned; forgiveness is a gift to be given. When I give forgiveness, I free my own spirit to release the anger and hatred harbored in my heart. By granting forgiveness, I free my spirit to pursue my future happily and unencumbered by the anchors of my past. And forgiveness, when granted to others, becomes a gift to myself. p. 132

The Sixth Decision for Success: I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit.

  • Of all the world’s population, I am one of the possessors of the secret to dissipating anger and resentment. I now understand that forgiveness has value only when it is given away. p. 138
  • By the act of forgiving, I am no longer consumed by unproductive thoughts. I give up my bitterness. I am content in my soul and effective again with my fellow man. p. 139
  • Knowing that slavery in any form is wrong, I also know that the person who lives a life according to the opinion of others is a slave. I am not a slave. I have chosen my counsel. I know the difference between right and wrong. p. 139
  • Those who are critical of my goals and dreams simply do not understand the higher purpose to which I have been called. Therefore, their scorn does not affect my attitude or action. I forgive their lack of vision, and I forge ahead. I now know that criticism is part of the price paid for leaping past mediocrity. p. 139
About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Positive Energy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

