3. The Law of Process

The Law of Process: Leadership Develops Daily, Not in a Day

Man! It is a pleasant surprise and no surprise at all that the first example presented for the Law of Process has to do with money! We are introduced to this lady who died at the age of 101 as a millionaire despite making about $3000 a YEAR at her retirement at the age of 51. Of course, she saved her money, invested it, and held on to it despite what the market did. Why do people think this is rocket science?

While other older people worry that they may run out of funds before the end of their lives, the longer she lived, the wealthier she became. -p. 24

Becoming a leader is a lot like investing successfully in the stock market. If your hope is to make a fortune in a day, you’re not going to be successful. There are no successful “day traders” in leadership development. What matters most is what you do day by day over the long haul. p. 24

This gets me excited every time I read it. Some people get confused when they find out that I transitioned into financial services. I don’t think engineering ever got me as excited as the idea of directly helping people create better personal lives for themselves, their families, and generations to come.

My friend Tag Short maintains, “The secret of our success is found in our daily agenda.” If you continually invest in your leadership development, letting your “assets” compound, the inevitable result is growth over time. What can you see when you look at a person’s daily agenda? Priorities, passion, abilities, relationships, attitude, personal disciplines, vision, and influence. See what a person is doing every day, day after day, and you’ll know who that person is and what he or she is becoming. p. 25

Although it’s true that some people are born with greater natural gifts than others, the ability to lead is really a collection of skills, nearly all of which can be learned and improved. p. 25

It is the capacity to develop and improve their skills that distinguishes leaders from their followers. Successful leaders are learners. p. 26

If I need to be inspired to take steps forward, then I’ll attend an event. If I want to improve, then I’ll engage in a process and stick with it. p. 26

The Phases of Leadership Growth

  1. I don’t know what I don’t know.
  2. I know that I need to know.
  3. I know what I don’t know.
  4. I know and grow, and it starts to show.
  5. I simply go because of what I know.

As long as a person doesn’t know what he doesn’t know, he isn’t going to grow. p. 27

When you’re in phase four, you can be pretty effective as a leader, but you have to think about every move you make. However, when you reach phase five, your ability to lead becomes almost automatic. You develop great instincts. And that’s when the payoff is incredible. p. 29

You can map out a fight plan or a life plan. But when the action starts, you’re down to your reflexes. That’s where your road work shows. p. 30

I feel particularly inspired this morning. Now the key is to use this potential energy and make it kinetic. What does that mean for me? Recruiting, prospecting, setting appointments, reviewing my vision, editing documents, cleaning and organizing, eating healthy, cultivating relationships, and pursuing my goals.

1. What is my personal plan for growth? My plan is to apply the habits of the rich that I learned from Success Magazine. That means I’ll go to sleep at 10pm so that I can get 7 hours of sleep and wake up at 5am. Then I will read 30 minutes of my Bible and at least 30 minutes of personal development material. I will exercise for at least an hour each day (weight lifting and cardio). I will listen to personal development material while I’m exercising, cleaning, and driving. I will attend church every Sunday and continue to grow during my weekly bible study session. I will write out my goals every day and establish 5 goals for each day, 5 goals for each week, 5 goals for each month, and 5 goals for each year. The key will be to work backwards. Other than that, I plan to take care of my eyes, hair, and face while also eating healthy. I will not eat junk food during the week and I must drink 1 cup of water before consuming any other beverages. I will pray every morning and night and I will continue to save and invest my money. I think that’s a good start.

2. I also need to focus on developing those that I lead or mentor. What I’ll do today is make a list of those that I lead in some way and figure out a plan for helping them reach their goals as well. I’ll do this beforeΒ the end of the week (hopefully tonight before bed).

3. I will focus on creating a culture of growth in every organization I join. People need to know that if you’re not growing you’re slowing. I only want to be around people who are growing.

What a great way to start my day! The coolest part? It started yesterday! πŸ™‚

About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

