8. The Law of Intuition

The Law of Intuition: Leaders Evaluate Everything with a Leadership Bias

Natural leaders get it instantly, learned leaders get it eventually, and non-leaders just look at me blankly. p. 87

Well, this should be a fun read! Some people just get it and for others, it takes some time!

[Colin Powell] observes that many leaders have trouble if they desire to have an exhaustive amount of data or wait to have all their questions answered before making decisions. Powell says that his practice is to make a leadership decision after gathering only 40 to 60 percent of the information that can be obtained, and then he uses his experience to make up the difference. In other words, he bases his leadership decisions as much on intuition as on facts. He relies on the Law of Intuition. And that often separates the great leaders from the merely good ones. p. 89

This is something that I’ve had to and still need to work on. As a technical person, I’m highly detail-oriented, which is both a pro and a con. My need for detail allows me to be a strong critical thinker and to reason deductively. However, I often get hit with analysis paralysis by which I will fail to act until I feel that I have ALL the information that I believe I need. In short, it causes me to stall and procrastinate…like I’m probably doing right now with my business plan.

How you see the world around you is determined by who you are. p. 92

Leaders must always be a few steps ahead of their best people, or they’re not really leading. They can do that only if they are able to read trends. p. 94

Leaders see everything with a leadership bias. Their focus is on mobilizing people and leveraging resources to achieve their goals rather than on using their own individual efforts. Leaders who want to succeed maximize every asset and resource they have for the benefit of their organization. For that reason, they are continually aware of what they have at their disposal. p. 94

Reading people is perhaps the most important intuitive skill leaders can possess. After all, if what you are doing doesn’t involve people, it’s not leadership. And if you aren’t persuading people to follow, you aren’t really leading. p. 95

Whenever leaders face a problem, they automatically measure it- and begin solving it- using the Law of Intuition. p. 97

Reflection:

  1. I’m not exactly sure where I excel intuitively, but I’ll observe myself and my strengths over the next few days. I know I’m pretty good at reading people.
  2. What a coincidence that this is next area of discussion. I would say I’m a solid B+ in reading people. There’s still room for improvement but I’ve made a lot of progress over the past few yearsΒ not only in reading people but also in understanding and empathizing. Since you can’t be a good leader without developing solid relationships, I’ve noticed a significant increase in my emotional intelligence as a result of my deliberate leadership development. I have been reading books on relationships. I have been engaging more people in conversations. And I’m a people watcher. Check, check, and check.
  3. I could do a better job of delegating, but I’m at the point where I want to know what I’m talking about before I start including people. I believe in sustainability and to keep people involved in the vision I have to have confidence and competence. So, I’m working on it. If there are tasks that I’m asked to handle, I’ll typically naturally start thinking of other people or resources that could help me get the job done. And I do this all through chess!
About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

