9. The Law of Magnetism

The Law of Magnetism: Who You Are is Who You Attract

Effective leaders are always on the lookout for good people. p. 103

This is so true! I think this is why it’s so much easier for me to network these days. I explain to people often that for me, you network when you’re looking to accomplish a goal, such as finding a job or generating new clients. On the other hand, connecting with people is a more formal and personal form of socializing. I socialize when I don’t expect to come out of a situation with any new friends or associates. But lately, I’ve been very focused on figuring out whether a person has the background I’m looking for in order to include them in the planning for ROI. It also allows me to connect with people on a personal level much quicker so that I can determine whether they are a person that I’d want to work with and someone that would be good to bring in to speak with my students.

My people would have these qualities:

  • Self-motivated goal-oriented learners
  • Patient and understanding with target demographic
  • Gentle spirit and positive energy
  • Abstract and progressive thinkers
  • Track record of professional success through career or education
  • Well-balanced lifestyle
  • Good communication and reliable/trustworthy

I’m sure I could name some more qualities of people with whom I’d be desirous of collaborating, but this list should suffice for now. Basically, you attract what you are. That’s why according to the reading, you attract people in your same age range, people with similar attitudes,  similar backgrounds and similar values, energy levels, giftedness, and leadership ability.

Random side note: I didn’t know there was a diversity requirement in the head coach interviewing process of the NFL. That sounds like affirmative action!

 If you want to grow an organization, grow the leader. p. 109

Attracting people unlike yourself requires a high degree of intentionality. To succeed at it, people must believe in you, and the vision you share must be compelling. p. 110

Reflection:

  1. Regarding ROI, I don’t officially have a team yet, but I have been attracting like-minded people to the idea. Most people I share my vision with are then inspired to play chess and to volunteer. Most of them are young idealists. Go figure. Now with PFS, I do have some work to do. I’ve changed the characteristics that I look for in people, but I have to work on exemplifying those traits, like communication, consistency, and conversion.
  2. I could probably do a better job of finding a coach or mentor for business purposes. I’ll reach back out to a couple people as advisers both spiritually and professionally.
  3. My five greatest strengths are probably: vision, character, adaptability, energy, and connectedness. My five greatest opportunity areas: consistency, commitment, urgency, business acumen, and follow-through.
  4. My teammate profile would be someone who has strengths in my opportunity areas but also sees and feels the vision of the organization. Ideally I’d like to work with a team of 20 and 30 somethings, while being able to work with leaders of all ages. I’m looking for people who are reliable, driven, and have great character as well as folks who can fuel the vision.
About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

