The E-Myth Revisited

I have heard so much about this book and I finally get to explore the wisdom and concepts that have propelled many a business owner to the upper echelons of success. I mean look at how the book starts:

If you own a small business, or if you want to own a small business, this book was written for you. p. 1

What?! That’s like marketing 101! Identify your audience and pull them in. That’s how you know this is going to be good. I’ve only read for 15 minutes and have already highlighted a ton! Looks like I’ll need a few more highlighters to get through this one.

The basic difference between an ordinary man and a warrior is that a warrior takes everything as a challenge while an ordinary man takes everything either as a blessing or a curse. p. 1

I like that! I think the warrior will see every opportunity as a challenge and every challenge as an opportunity, always focused on putting forth one’s best effort to bring about a desired result.

…people who are exceptionally good in business aren’t so because of what they know but because of their insatiable need to know more. p. xiii

At least I got this part down. Sometimes this can be a God-send and sometimes it can paralyze you. I think the balance between analysis paralysis and blind fury is “grow as you go”. You do need to continue to learn and improve but do so as you venture out into the world. Equip yourself with enough wisdom and safeguards to not totally destroy all chances of success, but expect to get better and better with time, practice, patience, and prayer. Most of this is what I’m saying to myself but it also sounds good too. 🙂

The greatest businesspeople I’ve met are determined to get it right no matter what the cost. p. xiii

Now of course that phrase “no matter what the cost” ideally has its limits in ethics, morals, and law. But otherwise I agree that you basically gotta do what you gotta do.

Like I said, there has already been a lot of highlighting:

On the other hand, notwithstanding the search for “something higher,” the best of the best I have known are extraordinarily grounded people; they are compulsive about detail, pragmatic, down-to-earth, in touch with the seamy reality of ordinary life. They know that a business doesn’t miss the mark by failing to achieve greatness in some lofty, principled way, but in the stuff that goes on in every nook and cranny of the business…And so the great ones I have known seem to possess an intuitive understanding that the only way to reach something higher is to focus their attention on the multitude of seemingly insignificant, unimportant, and boring things that make up every business. p. xiv

Yes, the simple truth about the greatest businesspeople I have known is that they have a genuine fascination for the truly astonishing impact little things done exactly right can have on the world. p. xv

That’s all just in the foreword! We haven’t even gotten to the introduction! I bet this book is going to be super technical as well. See! I don’t know how I let myself fall out of the habit of reading uplifting and inspiring books on a regular basis. Sometimes you have to venture into uncomfortable territory, but I’m finding that it’s more and more important to care for and nurture your inspiration lest the fuel gets too low and the light goes out.

Indeed, the problem is not that the owners of small businesses in this country don’t work; the problem is that they’re doing the wrong work. p. 1

And what makes people work is an idea worth working for, along with a clear understanding of what needs to be done. p. 4

…your business is nothing more than a distinct reflection of who you are. p. 5

I think I’m going to document my journey through this book by sitting. As in, I’ll read for a time, reflect for a time, then read some more. Yup, and so it begins!

About 5eriouslyernest

Aspiring Servant-Leader studying engineering principles, financial stewardship, business management, and psychology fundamentals in order to cultivate passionate leadership, disseminate positive energy, uplift the community and ultimately create a brighter future for generations to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

